And the 2012 NAMA winners are…

April 23rd, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Carter Sampson receiving her NAMA award as host Kyle Kellams looks on in the background. All photos by KEVIN KINDER, NWA Media

The NAMAs winners… listed below.

We attended the Northwest Arkansas Music Awards, the annual celebration of Northwest Arkansas’ music scene, which took place last night (April 22) at George’s Majestic Lounge.

We’ll offer more thoughts in Friday’s What’s Up! section, but for now, here’s a list of winners, dominated by Randall Shreve and The Sideshow, who won five awards, including several of the major ones, including Album of the Year for “The Jester” and Artist of the Year.

Listed in presentation order:

Female singer-songwriter: Carter Sampson

Male singer-songwriter: Randall Shreve

Female vocalist in a band: Leah Spears (of Leah and the Mojo Doctors)

Male vocalist in a band: Randall Shreve (of Randall Shreve and The Sideshow)

Spoken Word: Tommy Culpepper

Best Solo/Duo group: Matt and Gus Smith

Hall of Fame Award (presented to three-time winners): Benjamin Del Shreve

Best Latin band: Calle Soul

Best Jazz band: Fayetteville Jazz Collective

Best Blues band: Earl and Them

Hall of Fame Award: Leah Spears and the Mojo Doctors

Best Funk band: 1 Oz. Jig

Best Bluegrass band: Mountain Sprout

Best Country band: Sarah Hughes Band

Best Cover Band: Boom Kinetic

Hall of Fame inductee: Fayetteville Funk Ensemble

Special Award: Ozark Blues Society

Best DJ: DJ Derrick

Best Hip Hop band: Hardaway and The Commoners

Randall Shreve, collecting one of his five NAMAs.

Best Indie/Alternative band: Randall Shreve and The Sideshow

Best Rock band: A Good Fight

Best Punk/Hardcore band: The Plaid Jackets

Best Metal/Hard rock band: Perpetual Werewolf

Hall of Fame inductee: Deadbird

Lifetime Achievement Award: Oreo Blue

Best New Artist: I Do Declare

Album of the Year: Randall Shreve and The Sideshow for “The Jester”

Artist of the Year: Randall Shreve and The Sideshow