Northwest Arkansas Music Award winners

April 24th, 2008 at 11:43 pm

Joe Giles

Joe Giles accepts a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Northwest Arkansas Music Awards on April 24. Photos by Kevin Kinder, Northwest Arkansas Times.

Here are the results from the Northwest Arkansas Music Awards that took place April 24 at the Dickson Theater in Fayetteville.

The event featured performances by Luda, the Pope County Bootleggers, One Oz. Jig, The Memphis Pencils and Benjamin Del Shreve, who took home male Best Male Vocalist, Best Album and Best Pop Rock Band and Best Band of the Year Awards.

Inducted into the Hall of Fame, a honor given to those who have won a category three times, were Ocie Fisher and the Hipp Dogs, Effron White and the Flipoff Pirates.

Earning a lifetime achievement award was Joe Giles, leader of Joe Giles and the Homewreckers.

Click here to see a full list of winners.

Congratulations to all those who were honored this evening.

In the order the awards were presented:

Best Singer/Songwriter, male: Jeff Kearney

Best Singer/Songwriter, female: Sarah Hughes

Hall of Fame inductee No. 1: Effron White

Best Female Vocalist: Leah Spears (of Leah and the Mojo Doctors)

Best Roots/Americana Band: Sarah Hughes Band

Best Jazz Band: Matt Smith Trio

Best Rock/R&B/Blues Band: The Eoff Brothers Band

Best Jam/World Music Band: Joseph Israel

Hall of Fame inductee No. 2: Ocie Fisher and the Hipp Dogs

Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Giles

Best Male Vocalist: Benjamin Del Shreve

Best Power Rock/Southern Rock Band: Maud Crawford

Best Metal/Hard Rock Band: Wrought

Best Pop Rock Band: (tie) Apartment 5 and Benjamin Del Shreve

Best Indie/Ambient Band: The.Radio.Sky

Jeff Kearney

Jeff Kearney performed with his band, One Oz. Jig, at the NAMA ceremony. Kearney was honored as the year’s top male singer/songwriter and was also inducted into the NAMA Hall of Fame with one of his bands, the Flip Off Pirates.

Hall of Fame inductee No. 3: Flipoff Pirates

Best Electronic/Groove Band: Fayetteville Funk Ensemble

Best None of the Above Band: Six Hung Sprung

Best Band of the Year: Benjamin Del Shreve

Best Producer/Studio: The Listen Lab

Best New Band: A Good Fight

Best Album of the Year: Benjamin Del Shreve